Thoughts: Book Discussion

This thought just popped into my head: What about we have a book discussion as part of my blog? We read a book and discuss it. I am always looking to learn from stories and different perspectives on life/the world. It does not really matter the book, whether it be a gay rights book, a gay romance, or a current mainstream book such as The Hunger Games. My line though would be no deep philosophical books because people can only take so much of that. I would like this book discussion to be for any gay man that would like to participate. Though I am also a Christian, I bring that part of me into the discussion as well. There may be readers that disagree with Christianity and that is okay. I would like to encourage a respectful environment between the people who do participate.

One book that I am looking forward to reading is Justin Lee’s book entitled Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate. Here is a link to more information about it: http://www.amazon.com/Torn-Rescuing-Gospel-Gays-vs-Christians-Debate/dp/1455514314  The book does not release though until November 13, 2012.

There are two books that I currently have on hold at the library:  God vs. Gay?: The Religious Case for Equality by Jay Michaelson and Catching Fire (Book 2 of The Hunger Games Series) by Suzanne Collins. If anyone has a suggestion as well, feel free to post it in the comments or e-mail me at gayeveryday@gmail.com. I am more than willing to read a book with just one other person if that is what it comes down to.

I think it would be really interesting to discuss ideas and review books as gay men – giving a different perspective that is not always seen or heard.

Hopefully this can be something productive that many people will learn and gain from. This would also open the blog up to more posts from topics that come up from the book discussions.

-Josh

11 responses to “Thoughts: Book Discussion

  • Rich

    This is a great idea. There are book clubs everywhere. Why not on the internet too? A good book can help cut down on the time I waste on facebook and You Tube. Certainly God and gay life hold great interest. A book called Finding the Boyfriend Within sounds interesting as it is much like you have to love the one inside (you) if you want to find success in a relationship. I bought it a few years ago and it is here somewhere! I willwatch for what gets posted.

    • jmtromm

      Thanks Rich for being interested. Who is the author of the book you are suggesting? We could start with that if you would like. I am thinking we could do a book a month so everyone would have a good amount of time to read it and think about it. August seems to be a good time to start since right now we are just figuring out what to do. 🙂

  • Rich

    Finding the Boyfriend Within: A Practical Guide for Tapping into Your Own Source of Love, Happiness, and Respect is by Brad Gooch and is mostly for single and coupled gay men. Google review here so you can see if this book is worthy of our efforts: http://books.google.com/books/about/Finding_the_Boyfriend_Within.html?id=IcCEPQAACAAJ

  • Justin Lee

    Hey man! Just saw this… when Torn comes out, let me know if you do decide to have a discussion about it! I’d love to hear how it goes, and I’ll link to it from the book’s Facebook page. 🙂

  • Michael Valdez

    I think this is a marvelous idea! So how is the book review going so far? Has everyone read the first book? Being a newby to this blog, I’m going to be late. So, I can either start from the first book or start wherever the rest of the group is at. In the meantime, can we already have posts added on the books suggested so that people that have read the book can already post their reviews? Thank you for your attention in this matter.

    -Michael

    • jmtromm

      As far as I know only Rick and I are participating in this so I have been in contact with him about it. (If anyone else is participating, please let me know through the comments or email). Where Rick and I had left it is we were going to have the discussion at the end of the month. Personally, I am still in the process of reading it and Rick might be too. I should have it read around August 25th. Let’s plan on starting discussion September 1st. I will have my review of the book up then. I’ll just keep that format for every month. Everyone will have a month to read the book that the group decides.
      I will have a post soon picking the next book and my suggestions. Feel free to put in your opinion on it as well. If you have the time to join us for the first book discussion, we would love to have you but do not feel pressured to if you do not have the time. People can jump in at any time.
      If there are any other questions or comments, feel free to send them my way. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

