Easter

tumblr_m2yudogWde1rsziamo1_500

Easter went better than either of us could have expected. Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I would have a husband in my parent’s house sitting down and eating a meal. My parents genuinely liked Brendon and Brendon liked them. Brendon is a handy man; loves to fix things. He was able to connect in a way with my dad that I never could. We had dinner and slipped away into the basement where we watched The Guardians, that my siblings had rented, wrapped up together in a blanket. A sweet happy time together. My grandparents did not ask anything about us being together. I do not know if my mom has talked about it with my grandma but I have never said anything about my sexuality to them. My parents had always not wanted me to talk about it. Now we are in a different phase than before. Brendon’s family did invite him to have dinner with them last minute. After finishing the movie, dessert, and going for a walk; he went over to spend time with his family.

My mom later commented that she loves Brendon and I and cannot help being a mom to him though she does not believe that our relationship is right. I can respect that. I am glad that she sees that we are together and I did not have to point it out.

(Photo Courtesy of Pablo Needs Amused via Tumblr)

 

3 responses to “Easter

  • jessielansdel

    I am very pleased that things are looking up for you and Brendon. It is so much easier when ones family accept things and are happy for us.
    As always, my best wishes to you both. 😀

  • relationshipquest

    Congratulations, on your new relationship! Your family is putting their best effort in accepting you and your relationship. It really shows just how much they love you! This is an exciting time in your life. It’s the process of coming out and people excepting you for the beautiful gay man that you’re becoming. You will remember this moment for the rest of your life. I wish you all the best!

    • jmtromm

      Thank you! i would not call it accepting as much as they tolerate it but do not like it. My mom loves Brendon like her own child but she does not approve of us being together. I do not know if she would go to our wedding that we plan on having in the future.

Leave a Reply

